Review Agenda Item
Meeting Date: 1/19/2022 - 6:00 PM
Category: Special Education
Type: Action
Subject: 15.9 Review and Potential Approval of Increase of Independent Service Contract with Core Academy for the 2021/22 School Year
LCAP (Local Control Accountability Plan) Goal:
Goal 1: All students will receive a high quality education in a safe and welcoming environment with equitable and high expectations, access to technology, and instruction in the California State Standards that prepare them for college and/or career.
File Attachment:
21-22 CORE Academy ISC (1).pdf
CORE Academy Insurance (3).pdf
21-22 CORE Academy Amendment 1 (2).pdf
Summary: Core Academy is a small, highly structured program that focuses on educating students utilizing multi-sensory methods of instruction. The program integrates community activities, life skills, and social emotional supports. Students that participate in the program have been unsuccessful in traditional district/non-public school placements. Requested funds are to cover four new student placements for the 2021/22 school year.
Funding: General Purpose/Special Education
Program Code 16660 Special Education Non-Certified Placements
Fiscal Impact The request increase of $100,000.00 brings the new contract total to
$240,000.00. Requested funds are included in the 2021/22 budget.
Recommendation: Move to approve increase to independent service contract with Core Academy for the 2021/22 school year as presented.
Recommended By:
Signed By:
Bryan Cassin - Special Education Administrator
Signed By:
Wendi Aghily - Chief, Pupil Services and Special Education
Signed By:
Elizabeth McClanahan - Director of Purchasing and Warehouse
Signed By:
Mika Arbelbide - Director of Fiscal Services
Signed By:
Cesar Alvarado - General Counsel
Signed By:
Dr. Adam Clark - Superintendent
Vote Results:

Original Motion
Member Linda Mayo Moved, Member Cherise Khaund seconded to approve the Original motion 'Move to approve increase to independent service contract with Core Academy for the 2021/22 school year as presented.'. Upon a Roll-Call Vote being taken, the vote was: Aye: 4 Nay: 0.
The motion Carried 4 - 0
Debra Mason     Yes
Cherise Khaund     Yes
Keisha Nzewi     Yes
Erin McFerrin     Yes