Agenda Item
Meeting Date:
6/12/2024 - 6:00 PM  
Consent Agenda  
15.20 Review and Potential Approval of the Creation of New Student Intern I and II Positions  
LCAP (Local Control Accountability Plan) Goal:
Goal 1:
All students will receive a high quality education in a safe and welcoming environment with equitable and high expectations, access to technology, and instruction in the California State Standards that prepare them for college and career.
File Attachment:
Student Intern I - Job Description.pdf
Student Intern II - Job Description.pdf
Staff seeks to create two classified student intern positions to support increased work-based learning opportunities for youth in Mt. Diablo Unified School District (MDUSD). The student intern positions would be on the Classified Hourly schedule. Internship opportunities can take place during the school year, intersession (school breaks), and summer. Over the past ten years, MDUSD has created a pathway for students to increase access to work-based learning through career awareness (guest speakers, field trips, career days), career exploration (mentors, job shadows, informational interviews), and career preparation (industry certifications and internships). The student intern I and II positions will support MDUSD in preparing students for college and career and support their path to success and employability.  
Fiscal Impact:
Student Intern I (rate as of 7/1/24 $18.79) Student Intern II (rate as of 7/1/24 $20.97) Total: $194,644  
Move to approve the creation of new Student Intern I and II positions.  
Recommended By:
Signed By:
Emily Lopez - Senior Human Resources Specialist
Signed By:  
Dr. John Rubio - Chief Human Resources
Signed By:  
Stephanie Roberts - Director of Development
Signed By:  
Adrian Vargas - Chief Business Officer
Signed By:  
Dr. Adam Clark - Superintendent
Vote Results:

Original Motion
Member Keisha Nzewi Moved, Member Debra Mason seconded to approve the Original motion 'Move to approve the creation of new Student Intern I and II positions.'. Upon a Roll-Call Vote being taken, the vote was: Aye: 5 Nay: 0.
The motion Carried 5 - 0
Erin McFerrin     Yes
Cherise Khaund     Yes
Keisha Nzewi     Yes
Debra Mason     Yes
Linda Mayo     Yes