Agenda Item
Meeting Date:
5/10/2023 - 6:00 PM  
Special Education and Student Services  
15.28 Review and Potential Approval of Increase to Master Contract with Summa Academy for the 2022/23 School Year  
LCAP (Local Control Accountability Plan) Goal:
Goal 1:
All students will receive a high quality education in a safe and welcoming environment with equitable and high expectations, access to technology, and instruction in the California State Standards that prepare them for college and career.
File Attachment:
Summa Academy - 2022-23 Master Contract - Final (2).pdf
Summa Academy - Insurance 2023-07-06 (2).pdf
Summa Academy - Amendment 3 - Vendor Signed.pdf
Summa Academy operates a California approved non-public school and provides the district with contracted behavioral staff including registered behavioral technicians and board certified behavior analysts. Services are provided according to the terms of each student's individual education program and an individual service agreement. Additional funds in the amount of $75,000.00 are requested at this time to cover anticipated expenses due to district vacancies at the position of special education assistant and the addition of one MDUSD student in the non-public school.  
General Purpose/Special Education
Program Code 16600 Non-Public Schools
Fiscal Impact:
Increase of $75,000.00 to bring contract to $750,000.00  
Move to approve increase to master contract with Summa Academy for the 2022/23 school year as presented.  
Recommended By:
Signed By:
Bryan Cassin - Special Education Administrator
Signed By:  
Wendi Aghily - Chief, Pupil Services and Special Education
Signed By:  
Elizabeth McClanahan - Director of Purchasing and Warehouse
Signed By:  
Nancy Chen - Chief Accountant
Signed By:  
Cesar Alvarado - General Counsel
Signed By:  
Dr. Adam Clark - Superintendent
Vote Results:

Original Motion
Member Erin McFerrin Moved, Member Linda Mayo seconded to approve the Original motion 'Move to approve increase to master contract with Summa Academy for the 2022/23 school year as presented.'. Upon a Roll-Call Vote being taken, the vote was: Aye: 5 Nay: 0.
The motion Carried 5 - 0
Cherise Khaund     Yes
Linda Mayo     Yes
Debra Mason     Yes
Erin McFerrin     Yes
Keisha Nzewi     Yes