Agenda Item
Meeting Date:
10/13/2021 - 6:00 PM  
Special Education  
15.16 Review and Potential Approval of Increase to Independent Service Contract with Futures Academy for the 2021/22 School Year  
LCAP (Local Control Accountability Plan) Goal:
Goal 2: High quality, culturally proficient, and responsive staff will provide engaging instruction respectful of all students' backgrounds to ensure they are college and/or career ready.
File Attachment:
21-22 Futures Academy ISC.pdf
Futures Academy Insurance 2.pdf
21-22 Futures Academy Contract Amendment 1.pdf
Futures Academy is a Western Association of Schools and Colleges (W.A.S.C.) accredited school that specializes in serving students with disabilities that have struggled to access the curriculum within traditional school models and certified non-public schools. The district has a current contract with Futures Academy in the amount of $108,494.00. Additional funds in the amount of $47,850.00 are requested to cover one new student that has been placed for the 2021/22 school year through the alternative dispute resolution process.  
General Purpose/Special Education
Program Code 16660 Special Education Non-Certified Placements
Fiscal Impact:
Increase of $47,850.00 to bring the total contract to $156,344.00 is a budgeted expense in the 2021/22 budget.  
Move to approve increase to independent service contract with Futures Academy for the 2021/22 school year as presented.  
Recommended By:
Signed By:
Bryan Cassin - Special Education Administrator
Signed By:  
Wendi Aghily - Chief, Pupil Services and Special Education
Signed By:  
Elizabeth McClanahan - Director of Purchasing and Warehouse
Signed By:  
Mika Arbelbide - Director of Fiscal Services
Signed By:  
Cesar Alvarado - General Counsel
Signed By:  
Dr. Adam Clark - Superintendent
Vote Results:

Original Motion
Member Linda Mayo Moved, Member Debra Mason seconded to approve the Original motion 'Move to approve increase to independent service contract with Futures Academy for the 2021/22 school year as presented.'. Upon a Roll-Call Vote being taken, the vote was: Aye: 5 Nay: 0.
The motion Carried 5 - 0
Linda Mayo     Yes
Debra Mason     Yes
Cherise Khaund     Yes
Keisha Nzewi     Yes
Erin McFerrin     Yes