Mt. Diablo Unified School District Board of Education Resolution No. 2016/17-31 Safe, Welcoming and Inclusive Schools

Whereas, Mt. Diablo Unified School District is committed to the success of all students and to the provision of a safe, welcoming and inclusive learning environment to ensure their success;

Whereas, the Mt. Diablo Unified School District Board of Education embraces the diversity of our students and families and strongly supports and encourages the participation of all family and community members in our schools regardless of immigration status;

Whereas, through its policies and practices, the District has made a commitment to a quality education for all students, TK-Adult, which includes a safe and stable learning environment and the preservation of classroom hours for educational instruction, and the requirement of school attendance.

Therefore, be it resolved, that the Board of Education will continue to enroll and provide free public education to all school-age children who reside in our District regardless of citizenship status;

Be it further resolved, that the District will continue to protect student privacy and confidentiality as required by law;

Be it further resolved, that the Board of Education declares the District to be a safe, welcoming and inclusive learning environment for its students, meaning that the District is a place for students to learn, to thrive and to seek assistance, information, and support related to any immigration law enforcement that interferes with their learning experience;

Lastly, be it further resolved, that the Board of Education directs the Superintendent to review practices on tolerance, respect, and inclusion of all students, families, and staff at all District school sites and reaffirms the Board of Education's commitment to a safe, welcoming and inclusive learning environment.

Passed and Adopted on February 13, 2017, at a regular meeting of the Mt. Diablo Unified School District Board of Education by the following vote:

Ayes:	
Noes:	
Abstain:	
Absent:	

Debra Mason President, Board of Education Cheryl Hansen Vice President, Board of Education

Joanne Durkee Member, Board of Education Brian Lawrence Member, Board of Education

Linda Mayo Member, Board of Education