MINUTES

REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION MT. DIABLO UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT Friday, July 23, 2010 (5:00 PM)

Board Members: Gary Eberhart, Richard Allen, Linda Mayo, and Sherry Whitmarsh. Paul Strange - absent

Administrative Staff: Superintendent Steven Lawrence, Assistant Superintendents Julie Braun-Martin, Mildred Browne, Rose Lock, General Counsel Gregory Rolen, and Chief Financial Officer Bryan Richards

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Vice President Eberhart at 5:00 p.m. at the Mt. Diablo Unified School District Dent Center. Vice President led the Pledge of Allegiance and took roll call.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Marion Roccanova asked for an update on the school closure committee.

Willie Mims, Black Political Association, expressed concerns with suspensions at the high schools.

BUSINESS/ACTION

3.1 Appointment of School Site Administrators

Interviews have been conducted and candidates been selected to fill School Site Administrator positions.

At every special meeting, the Board of Education shall provide the public with an opportunity to address the Board on any item described in the notice before or during consideration of that item.

- Mayo moved Allen seconded, and the Board voted 4-0-0 to appoint Susan Peters to the position of Elementary School Principal. Ms. Peters will be assigned to Monte Gardens Elementary School.
- Allen moved, Mayo seconded and the Board voted 4-0-0 to appoint Irene Keenan to the position of Elementary School Principal. Ms. Keenan will be assigned to Mt. Diablo Elementary School.
- Whitmarsh moved, Mayo seconded, and the Board voted 4-0-0 to appoint Nancy Villa to the position of Elementary School Principal. Ms. Villa will be assigned to Silverwood Elementary School.
- Mayo moved, Whitmarsh seconded, and the Board voted 4-0-0 to appoint April Bush to the position of Middle School Principal. Ms. Bush will be assigned to Glenbrook Middle School.
- Allen moved, Whitmarsh seconded, and the Board voted 4-0-0 to appoint Constance Cirimelli to the position of Middle School Principal. Ms. Cirimelli will be assigned to Sequoia Middle School.
- Mayo moved, Allen seconded, and the Board voted 4-0-0 to appoint Amy Bush to the position of Vice Principal, High School. Ms. Bush will be assigned to College Park High School.
- Whitmarsh moved, Mayo seconded, and the Board voted 4-0-0 to appoint Rianne Pfaltzgraff to the position of Vice Principal, High School. Ms. Pfaltzgraff will be assigned to Ygnacio Valley High School.
- Allen moved, Mayo seconded, and the Board vote 4-0-0 to appoint Samantha Espinosa to the position of Program Specialist, Special Education.
- Allen moved, Whitmarsh seconded, and the Board voted 4-0-0 to appoint Carrie Weil to the position of Program Specialist, Special Education.

Public Comment

Willie Mims, Black Political Association, congratulated the appointees and wished them success. He also shared concerns he has with the ConApp report.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 5:40 p.m.