

MT. DIABLO UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT GOVERNING BOARD RESOLUTION 21/22-52

In Recognition of PTA's 125th Anniversary and California State PTA Day

- WHEREAS, the Mt. Diablo Council of PTAs and its eighteen PTAs connect families, schools, and communities is part of the foundation of the public education system and a trusted messenger to millions of members, parents, families, educators and allied agencies throughout the state; and
- WHEREAS, PTA has been instrumental in establishing programs and services to improve children's lives, including, school nutrition programs, child labor laws, public health services, the juvenile justice system, the creation of kindergarten, the advancement of family engagement, and the growth of arts in education; and
- WHEREAS, PTA is the nation's largest volunteer-led child-advocacy association working to drive improvements in the education, health, and well-being of all children and families; and
- WHEREAS, the founders of the PTA, Phoebe Apperson Hearst and Alice McLellan Birney, and Selena Sloan Butler, were women of imagination and courage who understood the power of individual action, worked beyond the accepted barriers of their day, and took action to literally change the world; and
- WHEREAS, founded as the National Congress of Mothers, the PTA celebrates the 125th anniversary of its founding on February 17, 2022; and
- WHEREAS, today, California has local PTAs throughout the state and its members represent the ethnic diversity of the nation and come from the ranks of all families who, together, continue to serve as the conscience of the country for children and youth; and
- WHEREAS, the Mt. Diablo Council of PTAs was chartered on March 1, 1924; and includes Ayers Elementary PTA, College Park High School PTSA, Delta View Elementary PTA; El Monte Elementary PTA, Gregory Gardens Elementary PTA, Highlands Elementary PTA, Oak Grove Middle School PTSA, Pine Hollow Middle School PTSA, Pleasant Hill Elementary PTA, Pleasant Hill Middle School PTSA, Silverwood Elementary PTA, Strandwood Elementary PTA, Sun Terrace Elementary PTA, Valle Verde Elementary PTA, Valley View Middle School PTSA, Wren Avenue Elementary PTA, Ygnacio Valley Elementary School PTA, and Ygnacio Valley High School PTSA;
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Governing Board of the Mt. Diablo Unified School District hereby commends the association on the occasion of its 125th anniversary, and encourages all its residents to celebrate this commemorative event; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that February 17, 2022, be California State PTA Day throughout Mt. Diablo Unified School District.



AYES: NOES: ABSENCES: ABSTENTIONS:

Debra Mason, Board President	Keisha Nzewi, Board Vice President
Cherise Khaund, Board Member	Linda Mayo, Board Member
Erin McFerrin, Board Member	Dr. Adam Clark, Superintendent

Resolution 21/22-52

Adopted at the meeting of the MDUSD Governing Board of Education on 02/09/2022