MT. DIABLO UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT

WEEK OF THE SCHOOL ADMINISTRATOR Resolution 11/12-36

WHEREAS, approximately 15,000 certificated and classified school administrators work in California's public schools; and

WHEREAS, nearly 60 percent of these administrators are principals and vice principals providing direct support for the education programs at school sites; and

WHEREAS, research has determined that one of the main attributes of effective schools is the competent leadership of principals; and

WHEREAS, other certificated and classified administrators provide leadership and support for the educational program by developing and implementing the curriculum, selecting textbooks and instructional materials, recruiting, training, and evaluating classified and certificated staff, managing the budget and monitoring cost controls, implementing school board policies and complying with federal, state, and local regulations and laws, planning and maintaining school facilities, and providing transportation, nutrition, and social service programs to pupils and their families; and

WHEREAS, research shows that public school administration in California has become increasingly efficient and effective, with fewer administrators managing more schools with more pupils than in the past; and

WHEREAS, a school's administrative team includes confidential employees who perform and assist in the performance of many critical functions; and

WHEREAS, school administrators and confidential employees ensure that effective and innovative classroom instruction is promoted in every area of California;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Mt. Diablo Board of Education does hereby proclaim the week of March 4 through March 10, 2012 as Week of the School Administrator, and be it further resolved that we encourage all students, parents, and school district employees to participate in observances that express and show appreciation to the administrators at schools throughout the Mt. Diablo Unified School District.

Sherry Whitmarsh, President

Linda Mayo, Vice President

Gary Eberhart

Lynne Dennler

Cheryl Hansen

Date