MT. DIABLO UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT

Resolution #11/12-30

AFRICAN AMERICAN HISTORY MONTH

WHEREAS, Americans of African descent helped develop our nation in countless ways, those recognized, unrecognized, and unrecorded; and

WHEREAS, African American history reflects a determined spirit of perseverance and cultural pride in its struggle to equally share in the opportunities of a nation founded upon the principles of freedom and liberty for all people; and

WHEREAS, African American citizens have participated in every American effort to secure, protect, and maintain the essence and substance of American democracy, as reflected by California *Education Code* section 37221(d) which establishes March 5 as *Black American Day* to commemorate the anniversary of the death of Crispus Attucks, the first African American martyr of the Boston Massacre; and

WHEREAS, the California State Board of Education recognizes in its Policy Statement on Multicultural Education that each student needs an opportunity to understand the common humanity underlying all people; to develop pride in his or her own identity and heritage; and to understand, respect, and accept the identity and heritage of others; and

WHEREAS, the history and contributions of African American citizens have been consistently overlooked, misinterpreted, and undervalued in the curriculum of public education institutions prior to the *Civil Rights Act of 1964*; and

WHEREAS, the *History-Social Science Framework for California Public Schools, Kindergarten Through Grade Twelve* states that the history curriculum of community, state, region, nation, and world must reflect the experiences of men and women and of different racial, religious, and ethnic groups and must be integrated at every level;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Mt. Diablo Unified School District proclaims the month of February as African American History Month and encourages all schools to commemorate this occasion with appropriate instructional materials; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this resolution be distributed to all schools within the district.

Sherry Whitmarsh President, Board of Education

Linda Mayo Vice President, Board of Education Lynne Dennler Member, Board of Education

Cheryl Hansen Member, Board of Education

Gary Eberhart Member, Board of Education Date